4 Key Points to Consider When Choosing a Healthcare Accreditation

Last week we introduced Gwen Roberts, SVP of BHM’s Consulting Division and discussed common questions that come up when organizations start the accreditation journey, focusing mainly on choosing between URAC and NCQA health plan accreditation. This week we are focusing on four key elements organizations should consider when deciding between healthcare accreditation bodies. Since many organizations have very diversified programs and levels, it’s important to understand the culture and expectation of your own organization first. Here are four helpful points that you can use as a guide as you begin your journey towards accreditation.

The NCQA Welcomes 2 Important Vendors to the eMeasure Certification Program

The NCQA announced on November 24th that CECity.com, Inc. and Arcadia Solutions, two leading data vendors, would be participating in the new eMeasure Certification Program. According to the NCQA press release, this means Health Plans will now be able to obtain certified data from these two health IT vendors.

The Road To NCQA Health Plan Accreditation

Are you a health plan looking into NCQA accreditation? We know that the process can be daunting and often stressful, so we’ve compiled a list of NCQA basics to help those who are pondering an NCQA accreditation. If you are a health plan who has already chosen to pursue NCQA accreditation, take a look at our blog post "NCQA Health Plan Accreditation : The Difference Between Failure and Success." For those of you just getting started let's dive into the NCQA basics, from who the NCQA is to an overview of their Health Plan accreditation levels. Hopefully this list helps jump-start your journey towards successful healthcare accreditation.

NCQA Presents HEDIS 2016 Volume 2 with Relevant ICD-10 Codes

The NCQA announced on September 29, 2015 that the 2nd volume of HEDIS 2016 (The Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set) would be completely ICD-10 compliant and ready for the implementation day of OCT 1. The NCQA has phased out the ICD-9 codes as per NCQA regulations and added over 73,000 ICD-10 codes, across 56 HEDIS measures. "Health plans, health data clearinghouses and health care providers will now be able to code records to comply with CMS requirements for HEDIS reporting."

NCQA Releases Health Insurance Plan Ratings For 2015-16 & Debuts New Rating System

On September 17, 2015 the NCQA announced the release of the 2015-16 Health Insurance Plan Ratings, debuting the new ratings methodology as well. These ratings, which are shift from the "ranking" system previously used by the accrediting body, compare the services and quality of over 1,000 health plans. These ratings "provide consumers with a more accurate picture of how health insurance plans perform in key quality areas." The easy to use system lets consumers search for health plans by state, and plan name or plan type (Private, Medicaid, Medicare). Consumers can also sort the listings by Accredited Status, Consumer Satisfaction, Prevention, and Treatment (in addition to rating). Top performers nationwide, with an overall 5.0 rating and 4.5 Consumer Satisfaction include: Capital District Physicians' Health Plan, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Northern California.

Join Us 9/17 For Our FREE Webinar: The Secrets to Accreditation Success!

Through research, expert interviews, and hands on work with some of the top national organizations we have discovered the keys to accreditation success....and they might not be what you think! This is a must attend event for anyone undergoing accreditation or re-accreditation. Discover essential components on how to maximize your accreditation success rate, save your organization money, and get the most out of your accredited status.

The NCQA’s New Standards for Health Plan Accreditation

Back in April we talked about the NCQA's Proposed Changes to Health Plan Accreditation and now the new standards are here! The changes to the Health Plan accreditation program were presented at the end of July and are "designed to enhance the core patient protections—for access to clinically appropriate care—that are the hallmark of NCQA programs." See the three major changes in our recent blog post!

8 Helpful Questions To Jump-Start Your Accreditation Journey

Thinking about accreditation? Here are 8 helpful questions that you can use as a guide to help ease your organization into the accreditation process. We will group the eight questions into four simple steps, in order to help you jump-start your accreditation journey with ease.

Pin It on Pinterest